Time to get Creative

Posted on

English: Fractionated Coconut (Cocos nucifera)...

 

During the winter months I tend to get bored so I like to concoct new hair products from old products. Recently I created a shampoo that cleanses my scalp but conditions my hair at the same time. After I shampoo my hair, it tends to feel like straw but conditioners or co-washing don’t get my scalp and hair clean enough so I add water to my shampoo so I can get my scalp clean and my hair doesn’t feel stripped. But I think I found an alternative.  All I did was add coconut oil into my shampoo. I added two parts shampoo into an empty bottle and added one part liquified unrefined coconut oil into the same bottle. Unrefined coconut oil will solidify during colder months so you have to warm the oil either by stove top or microwave. I just scooped out about a table-spoon of coconut oil and placed it in a plastic container and popped it in the microwave for 30-45 seconds.  After the oil liquified (make sure to check the oil to see that it’s not bubbling, remember this is going on your scalp!) add the oil into the shampoo. My favorite shampoo is from Aubrey Organics it’s all natural and my favorite part it’s cheap. Aubrey Organics shampoo color is brown, when I added the coconut oil into the shampoo, the color changed from brown to caramel. I shampooed my hair twice to make sure I removed any product build up. I was happy with the results, my hair was softer after I shampoo with my new mixture compared with when I shampoo with two parts shampoo one part water. I hope this inspires you to get creative give this a try too also some other concoctions!

 

3 thoughts on “Time to get Creative

    Maverick said:
    December 4, 2012 at 10:54 am

    You took to pre-existing elements and made a new shampoo that was greater than the sum of its parts…brilliant!

    Like

    The Rule of Three « Becoming a Minimalist said:
    December 5, 2012 at 11:05 am

    […] Time to get Creative (mmaybury.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

